Instagram Reshare Feature

By November 6, 2018 Instagram, SMM, Social Media, Socialyfe

The Instagram reshare is still currently in test mode with a select audience.

Not everyone will have access to it. To find out if you have access, select any post from any public account. Tap on the message or send to button ( the icon that looks like a paper plane). If you have the option to Add Post to Your Story, then you have this feature!

Reshare Posts to Your Story

The new reshare feature is the start to an official “regram” feature within Instagram. It’s not a fully functional regram tool as it’s limited to the stories. In this current testing version, you can share an Instagram post to your Instagram story. However, you CANNOT reshare a post to your Instagram feed.

The process of sharing a post is relatively quick and easy.

Select the post to add to your story

Choose any post, including one of your own, that you want to share. Tap the Send To button and choose Add Post to Your Story.

A new story post will open. Instagram’s technology automatically selects a gradient of colors for the background, based on the colors in the post image. The original post is a square image with the original username of the account beneath it.

Edit Your Story Post

Now that you have the story post open, edit your story as normal — add more context to your story, drag and resize the reshared post image, add text, stickers, or other components.

If you don’t like the color of the background that Instagram applied to the post, you can change it by tapping on the pencil icon. After which, choose a color, then tap and hold the background of the post to fill it with the color of your choice.

Upload Your Story

Now, complete your story post by uploading like normal. After which, you and your followers will be able to see it on your story profile.

Edit Your Post Sharing Settings

By default, your account allows others to share your posts. Everyone should currently have this option in their account settings.

There may be a situation, however, where you don’t want other accounts to be able to share your posts to their stories. You can prevent this (even if you don’t have the reshare feature), by editing your settings in Instagram.

Tap on the gear icon on your profile, and scroll down to the Allow Others to Reshare option. If the slider for this option is on, people currently have the ability to share your posts. To disable this setting, tap on the slider to turn it off.

Creative Ways to Use Reshared Posts

The reshare feature offers a variety of ways to expand your content strategy for Instagram. If you have this feature, you may want to consider resharing posts in these ways:

  • Showcase your customers by sharing their content
  • Highlight local events
  • Provide educational tips
  • Share local or national news
  • Cross-promote your own Instagram posts to your Instagram stories – more eyes on the prize

In summary, if your account does not have the reshare feature, it will still be beneficial for your brand. Make sure that your sharing feature is on, so followers can share your posts. Doing this will increase brand awareness and future engagement. So, although this is still in test mode, the feature is a very positive aspect to Instagram and without a doubt will assist your brand.

Finally, if you have the feature, test it out and tag us – @centerlyne.

Follow Us. Like Us. Share Us. We're Awesome!
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
GOOGLE
GOOGLE
https://centerlyne.com/instagram-reshare-feature/
LinkedIn